I Love NY.

Today is my last day living in New York City until January! It is definitely a bittersweet feeling. But I am excited to be home in New Jersey for the entire summer and I am also thrilled to be living in London in the Fall. Over the past two years, I have found the best spots in New York City and I wanted to share them with you today. NYC is amazing because just about everything you could ever ask for is here. However, I do have a few favorite places and events. If you’re in NYC soon or you are visiting, try to stop by some of these spots! You will thank me later.

1. Long Island Bagel Cafe: Everyone who knows me knows that I am obsessed with this place. It’s actually gotten to the point where the employees know my name and my usual order. I kind of love having a usual breakfast spot like this and their bagels are amazing! I am not kidding when I say I’m going to come back to NYC this summer just to get some. They also have good sandwiches and smoothies!

IMG_4407 IMG_9153tumblr_n26s594YNh1trkyrko4_500

2. Brooklyn Smorgasburg: I have to thank my friend Chanda for showing me this amazing place! Every Sunday, in Brooklyn (Brooklyn Bridge Park Pier 5), there are tons of vendors who come to sell their food along the promenade. Everything from ice cream to lobster rolls is offered. I chose the margarita pizza and a smores bar for dessert and it was delicious. Plus, from the park you can see a gorgeous view of Manhattan! I could’ve stayed all day.

IMG_6974IMG_0262

3. Amorino Gelato: I first had Amorino when I was in Paris and when they finally opened up a shop in the village I was so excited to go and try it out. The gelato is just as amazing as I remembered. Plus, they always make your ice cream in the shape of a flower.

IMG_8569  IMG_4430

 

4. Battery Park: Battery Park is kind of a hidden gem. It is so beautiful in the warm seasons. There are tons of flowers, grass, and trees but you can also check out the skyscrapers and the statue of liberty from the lookouts. It is the perfect spot to lounge on a warm day and it is never as crowded as Central Park.

IMG_4810  IMG_2011

 

5. Global Citizens Festival: This festival comes around every fall in Central Park. A majority of the tickets given away are free and the entire festival is for charity. Half of the time during the festival, you can see celebrities and world leaders talk about major issues around the world and how you can help. However, the rest of the festival is filled with music. This year I saw Kings of Leon, John Mayer, Alicia Keys, and Stevie Wonder. It was an experience I will never forget. If you get the chance to go, you should!

IMG_1443IMG_6193

5. Chelsea Market: I didn’t know about this place until a few years ago and it is seriously so cool! It is pretty much an enclosed urban food court and shopping mall. They have such a cool variety of shops here. My favorite place for lunch is Lucy’s Whey- a grilled cheese shop. But Chelsea Market has pretty much every type of food available and also some really unique handmade shops and bookstores. Check it out!

IMG_1545 IMG_8067

 

I hope you guys liked my little post. Honestly, I could’ve gone on forever. NY is filled with such amazing places and I am only going to keep exploring! One of the best things in life is finding unique places that fill you with joy whenever you go there. Anyway, have a good Thursday! I will be on my way home to NJ today and that makes me excited!

Sincerely,

Carlie

Leave a Reply

